Learning through play

Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

The foundation stage is from birth to five years old

The provision for children’s development and learning is guided by the Early Years Foundation Stage (2017).  Our provision reflects the four overarching principles of the Statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage.


 A Unique Child

  • Every child is a unique child who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident, and self-assured.


Positive Relationships

  • Children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships.


Enabling Environments

  • Children learn and develop well in enabling environments, in which their experiences respond to their individual needs and there is a strong partnership between practitioners, parents and carers.


Learning and Development

  • Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates. The framework covers the education and care of all children in early years provision including children with special educational needs and disabilities.

How we provide for development and learning

Children start to learn about the world around them from the moment they are born. The care and education offered by our setting helps children to continue to do this by providing all the children with interesting activities that are appropriate for their age and stage of development.


The areas of Development and Learning comprise:

Prime Areas

  • Personal, social, and emotional development.      

  • Physical development.

  • Communication and language.

Specific Areas

  • Literacy.

  • Mathematics.

  • Understanding.

  • Expressive arts and design

Understanding the world

  • People and communities

  • The world; and

  • Technology.



  • Numbers; and

  • Shape, space, and measure


Expressive arts and design

  • Exploring and using media and materials; and

  • Being imaginative

For each area, the level of progress that children are expected to have attained by the end of the Early Years Foundation Stage is defined by the Early Learning Goals. These goals state what it is expected that children will know, and be able to do, the end of the reception year of their education.

The Development Matters guidance sets out the likely stages of progress a child makes along their learning journey towards the Early Learning Goals. Our setting has regard to these matters when we assess children and plan for their learning. Our programme supports children to develop the knowledge, skills and understanding they need for:


Personal, social, and emotional development

  • Making relationships;

  • Self-confidence and self-awareness; and

  • Managing feelings and behaviour.


Physical development

  • Moving and handling: and

  • Health and self-care


Communication and language

  • Listening and attention

  • Understanding; and

  • Speaking.




  • Reading; and

  • Writing

For Further Information about the EYFS
Click on the PDF symbol